• Print
  • Bookmark

Arabica e Robusta

Two species for many blends

The coffee plant belongs to the Rubiaceae family, genus Coffea, that includes approximately 90 species.
Three species are the most important for human economy: Coffea Arabica, Coffea Canephora (also known as Coffea Robusta), Coffea Liberica. Evergreen, it grows between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn.
Coffee plantations require a lot of water, particularly in the full vegetation stage.

Coffea Arabica, with its numerous varieties (Bourbon, Catui, Caturra, Catimorra, Mundonovo, etc.) represents today two-thirds of the world coffee production. The plant is rather delicate and requires greater care than the Robusta variety. The beans are an elongated oval shape, green-blue in colour and feature a sinuous barely noticeable groove.

The ideal habitat for Coffea Arabica is at an altitude of between 600 and 2000 metres: the higher it grows, the better the sensory qualities of the beans.           

The major growers are the countries of South and Central America but excellent quality can also be found in some areas of Africa and Asia. The market offers a wide range of Arabica and the diversities of flavour are given by the country of origin and the multiple varieties.    

Arabica coffees are rich in aromas and fragrances, sweet and slightly acidulous.
Caffeine level is lower than that contained in the Robusta quality: it is about 1.4% in green coffee.

Arabica coffee

Robusta coffee

Coffea Canephora (Robusta) is widespread in Africa, Asia, Indonesia, and accounts today for approximately one third of the world’s production. It grows at altitudes between sea level and 600 metres, where it can bear very hot and humid climates with peak temperatures of over 30°C.
After roasting, the yield is a full-bodied coffee with a chocolatey flavour and a persistent aftertaste.


We suggest